Category Archives: Uncategorized

Hiram Kane Adventure Series

Book One is on sale for 99 cents this weekend. There are five books in the series.

A betrayed criminal. A kidnapped child. A deadly race against time.
On the Island of the Gods, expedition leader Hiram Kane is on holiday after a long season guiding in the Peruvian Andes.

When a good friend’s greed leads him to betray Bali’s most notorious gangster, their peaceful community is left shell-shocked after the six-year-old daughter of its leader gets kidnapped in a vicious and violent raid.
What follows is a whirlwind race across the paradise island to rescue the girl before ‘The Rooster’ takes his sadistic revenge, and with the waking giant of volcanic Mt. Agung threatening to destroy them all, Kane risks everything to prevent a devastating tragedy.
The Tiger Temple is the exciting new starter to the Hiram Kane adventure series. For fans of Russell Blake and Clive Cussler, Steven Moore’s action thriller will leave you breathless.

To delve into the globetrotting world of Hiram Kane, buy your copy of The Tiger Temple, today!
1555430164

Coastal Breeze Now Available!

 

Book One in the Bluewater Breeze Series is ready for you to read today. No pre-order, no waiting.

 

Breeze is made an offer he can’t refuse. A three million dollar yacht is his for the taking, but there are strings attached. He’s sent to Panama to repossess the vessel from its current captain, who becomes an unlikely ally during a mission to Colombia.
He desperately wants to get home to Florida, but the return trip is fraught with problems and complicated by the uneasy relationship with his passenger. Any attempt to come to terms with the loss of his lover must wait for the completion of the journey.
A new life awaits if he can stay alive long enough to realize it.

Coastal Breeze 001

 

If You Haven’t Read My Books . . .

 

Can you believe it? Some of my friends and acquaintances have not read any of my books! I know, crazy right? Actually, I get it. It’s a busy world out there. Who has time for fiction these days? I’ve created a special offer just for these people. It’s the next best thing to free. This is your chance to sample my work for under a buck. Not just one book, but FIVE of them.  That’s right: FIVE BOOKS FOR 99 CENTS.

I’ll make diddly at this price, but it’s a way to entice you to give my stuff a try. Do it quickly though. This offer won’t last.

New River Breeze Now Available

 

 

There is a fugitive near the New River that baffles Breeze with his speed and endurance. Creekside Investigations becomes occupied with the marital surveillance business; tracking cheating spouses in the High Country. Breeze can’t accept his failure to capture the Running Man, so he puts his fledgling business aside to return to the wilderness in pursuit of his prey.
It all leads to an explosive ending that will rip your guts out and leave you wondering what happens next.

Kindle Link:

Paperback link:

https://www.amazon.com/New-River-Breeze-Shocking-Conclusion/dp/1072219972/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=new+river+breeze&qid=1559859091&s=books&sr=1-2

Sign up for my author email list:

https://mailchi.mp/6ca0c23d88dc/signup

 

 

 

Leaving the Mountains

Most of you know that Kim and I are not afraid of change. When we sold the boat we wanted to try something different and moving to the mountains was about as different as it gets. I have lots of good things to say about the North Carolina High Country. The scenery is stunning no matter where you look. The air is fresh and clean. The people are friendly and kind.

We really do love our little cabin in the woods, but the weather here does not suit us. It wasn’t the cold winter or the snow, it’s the constant gloom of rain, clouds, fog, and gray skies. It feels like the sun rarely shines, so this won’t be our forever home.

WE MISS THE BEACH! WE MISS OUR TOES IN THE SAND AND THE SALTY AIR. 

We are moving to the Crystal Coast of North Carolina. We got a house. It’s not a classic trawler or a cool log cabin, it’s just a house, but we really like it.

house

The property is .85 acres so we have a little grass to cut.

housebackyard

With a nice little private space out back.

housekitchen

Kim gets a real kitchen too.

It’s in a quiet neighborhood close to Swansboro. Some of our neighbors will be Marines stationed at Camp Lejeune. We’ll be minutes from the waterfront and a short drive to the beach at Emerald Isle and other area attractions. We’ve made two trips to explore and we’ve liked what we’ve seen.

Screenshot (54)

We take possession on June 17th. Lots to do between now and then.

This will make Leap number 3, but we have a feeling this will be the place where we settle down. Cheers to new adventures!

 

 

 

Fields of the Wood

Fields of the Wood is a religious park of more than 200 acres in Cherokee County, North Carolina, owned by the Church of God of Prophecy. It is best known for its 300-foot-wide, mountainside representation of the Ten Commandments.

A.J. Tomlinson was the visionary who built them. He was working for the American Bible Society when he encountered a sect of down-on-their-luck, speaking-in-tongues Pentecostals in the mountains of southwestern North Carolina. On the morning of June 13, 1903, A.J. climbed to a hilltop and met God; when he walked back down, he had a plan for the Pentecostals. Three years later he was running their sect, which he grew into a multinational protestant denomination that he named The Church of God of Prophecy.

Work began on The Fields of the Wood on November 15, 1940. Its first monument was not the Ten Commandments, but a globe-topped obelisk marking the spot where A.J. conveyed his revelation to the Pentecostals. The second monument was the World’s Largest Altar, 80 feet long, marking the spot where A.J. met God. A.J. said this was only right, since the Bible says that sacred religious sites should be marked with monuments.

Donations accepted.
Donations accepted.

Then A.J. died. He lived just long enough to see his mega-Commandments outlined on a hillside. Following his personal directions, The Church of God of Prophecy completed all of the monuments at The Fields of the Wood in 1945.

On the opposite side of a narrow valley, paved with large parking lots for church crowds, is Prayer Mountain, which rises nearly as high as its neighbor. Its steps are flanked with monuments for the 29 Prominent Teachings of The Church of God of Prophecy, each sponsored by a different state. The teachings include condemnations of liquor (Virginia), tobacco (Washington), freemasonry (North Dakota), swearing (Arkansas), and “the divorce and remarriage evil” (Indiana). Louisiana covers it all with its monument, “Eternal Punishment for the Wicked.”

For all its massiveness, the World’s Largest Ten Commandments are just one of a roster of religious landmarks at The Fields of the Wood. A welcome center booth displays a map, helpfully charting everything on the 210-acre property, from a replica Golgotha to a cartoon-style Star of Bethlehem atop a metal tower. There’s an Empty Tomb — built of stone taken from the mountains — and a baptismal pool big enough to hold a busload of sinners. Christian rock, broadcast from speakers outside the gift shop, fills the little valley.

FOW

Fow2

The highest point in the park is “All Nations Cross,” a prone display optimized for angelic viewing. 150 feet long, the Cross is outlined by poles flying flags of the nations where The Church of God of Prophecy is established. The Cross only has room for 86 flags even though the church now operates in 140 counties (The gift shop guidebook apologizes if your country’s flag isn’t flying on the day that you visit).

FOW1

Because the entire Fields of the Wood property was built around A.J.’s spot, no thought was given to its convenience for tourists. That makes the World’s Largest Ten Commandments a wholly unexpected spectacle. You round a corner on a backcountry road and, bam, there it is.

FOW3

*Source: Roadside America

https://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2613

 

To sign up for my author’s email list, click the following link:

https://mailchi.mp/f97aed1a0c02/signupforemaillist